Jimmer Fredette and why we’re getting married…I MEAN why I can’t wait for the drafts.

Jimmer. I can’t even guess how many times I’ve said that wonderful name. To be honest, you could probably claim I’m obsessed with him, which I guess I could consider fair. I mean, I do have a Jimmer poster as well as a life sized cardboard cut-out of him in my room (birthday presents from my friends…they know me too well). Oh and at my birthday party I rapped ‘Teach Me How to Jimmer’ in front of everyone. But is this so-called obsession without reason? Some people say so.

I beg to differ.

Let’s chit-chat a little about this thing called shooting. Jimmer knows exactly what shots to take, when to take them, and why. He has basically got it down to an art and that will be an incredibly valuable skill in the NBA. He’s quick as well which gives him SO much leverage over the guys like Yao, Aaron Gray, and Shaq who can’t move fast for their life.

He’s got a strong frame and will take the hits needed to get his accuracy. The kind of player you need is the one who will bust his butt to get what he wants- and Jimmer is willing to work hard for the rewards no matter what the path is like to get there.  He doesn’t dilly dally either which I appreciate because I seriously can’t stand watching players who waste time making dumb decisions.

“But he’s not that athletic!!!” I hear you say. In comparison to NBA players, that is a true statement. Jimmer isn’t incredibly athletic, but to go with his range and insane shooting ability he has a really good pull up mid range game. Not to mention, he always-repeat-always finishes at the hoop. So many times I’ve seen him be pushed to the limit, fouled to the max, on his way to the ground…

and he still makes it.

What gets me most is watching him play. Every time Jimmer has the ball, I feel myself getting butterflies in my stomach out of excitement, and no, not just because I find him ridiculously attractive, but because I never know what I’m going to see next. Maybe he’ll pull a three with his phenomenal range or break someone’s ankles with a gnarly crossover.

Either way, I end up getting rug burns on my knees (true story) from dropping to the floor out of pure joy.

As far as draft predictions go, I have to say that I have absolutely no idea. I think Jazz or Knicks (him and Amare? Ahhh, beautiful) would be cool but probably unlikely. I dunno, I guess we’ll see… and I can’t wait for more rug burns.

peace, crossovers, & Jimmer,

-Lo

Leave a Reply

