The Celtics need a makeover. Big time.

Doc Rivers just signed a new 5 year deal with the C’s.  Thank heavens, for a sec I was afraid we were going to lose him and we can’t afford to lose a really great coach.

But a really great coach isn’t really great without the players.

And as much as I hate to say this…. The Celtics need some work done. Being my favourite team, my concern for them is exponentially rising and I’m beginning to think that maybe the “good old Celtics” might just be the “old Celtics.”

Donned “the Big Three” in 2007, Paul Pierce, Kevin Garnett and Ray Allen have showed the world their expertise in more ways than one. But they’ve all been in the NBA long enough to fairly say they’re… well… old. Allen is 35, Garnett is 35, and Pierce is 33. The untouchables are now becoming pretty touchable, as shown this year at the playoffs. Miami’s very own “Big Three”- Dwayne Wade, Chris Bosh, and Lebron James- showed how their youth came to their advantage, winning 4-1. Not to mention, Shaq has already had his glory days and it’s evident that they are way over, that dude needs to go. Neeeeeds. to. go.

I think the trade of Kendrick Perkins for Jeff Green was a smart one. I honestly feel like Green hasn’t been with us long enough to say “AHH HE’S SO AMAZING.” However, I’ve been impressed with what I’ve seen from Green. I slightly miss Perkins, but I think we’ll see how it all plays out.

For next season I’m hoping either one of two things happen:

1) The Big Three come back next season and pull it together like we’ve never seen before (probably unlikely…)

2) Maybe we keep the Big Three intact, but bring in some hot new commodities to liven things up a bit. Or a lot. Preferably, a lot. And let’s ditch Big Baby Davis, he’s a waste of space and money and we could be spending that on someone who is quick and more dependable. Yes, he’s better at defense than some. But other than that…there are much better players out there waiting to be drafted/traded to the C’s.

I’m excited for next season- excited but nervous. I guess we’ll see, won’t we?

Peace, nice weather, & irish luck

-Lo

Leave a Reply

